Skip Navigation Links
About TTRFUExpand About TTRFU
Media Releases
Photo Gallery
Monday 19 March, 2018
South Africa Women Qualify For RWC Sevens 2018

South Africa Women Qualify For RWC Sevens 2018

South Africa’s women have made it through to their third Rugby World Cup Sevens tournament as African Champions, becoming the 16th team to confirm their place at next year’s event in San Francisco, on 20-21 July, 2018.

Coach, Renfred Dalzel’s side were unbeaten at the Rugby Africa Women’s Sevens Championship, which doubled as the regional RWC Sevens qualification tournament, overcoming main rivals Kenya 17-12 in a thrilling, see-saw final in the town of Jemmal, near Monastir in eastern Tunisia.

Both finalists topped their respective pools with three wins a piece, Kenya qualifying for the knockout stages as number-one seeds thanks to their superior points tally, but the defending champions prevailed when it mattered most to take the regional crown for the fifth year in a row.

On day one, South Africa cruised past Morocco (43-0) and Uganda (23-0) either side of a tough encounter against Tunisia (17-7) to enter the knockout stages high on confidence.


 Return to Media Releases
� Copyright 2006 Trinidad and Tobago Rugby Football Union. All rights reserved.