Skip Navigation Links
About TTRFUExpand About TTRFU
Media Releases
Photo Gallery
Friday 23 February, 2018
Japan, China And Hong Kong Teams Qualify For RWC Sevens 2018

Japan, China And Hong Kong Teams Qualify For RWC Sevens 2018

Hong Kong’s men, China’s women and both Japan teams are off to the Rugby World Cup Sevens in San Francisco next year after the Asia Rugby Sevens Series concluded in Sri Lanka on Sunday.

Hong Kong men beat overall champions and fellow qualifiers Japan 19-14 in extra-time in the final of the third round of the series in Colombo. It was their second win over Japan in as many days following a 19-7 victory in the pool stages.

Paul John’s side entered the third and final leg of the series in third place in the standings and in danger of missing out on next year’s big event. They needed to finish at least two spots ahead of Korea to grab second spot behind rivals Japan and the tournament win in Colombo meant they did it comfortably, with the Koreans slipping to fourth after losing the bronze medal match to hosts Sri Lanka.

Hong Kong have also qualified for the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2018-19 qualifier at April’s Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens, as well as continuing their ever-present record at Rugby World Cup Sevens.

In the women’s competition, Japan beat China in the final for the second tournament running with both sides booking their places in San Francisco next year as the top-two ranked nations from the series.


 Return to Media Releases
� Copyright 2006 Trinidad and Tobago Rugby Football Union. All rights reserved.