Skip Navigation Links
About TTRFUExpand About TTRFU
Media Releases
Photo Gallery
Monday 19 March, 2018
Beaumont Looking Forward To Landmark Gold Coast 2018 Rugby Sevens As Pools Are Confirmed

Beaumont Looking Forward To Landmark Gold Coast 2018 Rugby Sevens As Pools Are Confirmed

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont is anticipating spectacular rugby sevens events at the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games after the tournament countdown marked another major milestone with the pool draw on Thursday.

The draw for the competition, which takes place from 13-15 April, took place at the Robina Stadium, which will make history by hosting the first ever Commonwealth Games women’s sevens event.

The landmark eight-team women’s event, includes hosts and Olympic Games champions Australia and HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series champions New Zealand.

The men’s event features 16 teams, including defending champions South Africa, four-time winners New Zealand, Olympic champions Fiji and hosts Australia.

Beaumont said: "The Commonwealth Games has been a driving force behind the rugby sevens success story, always delivering exciting tournaments, full stadia and a special atmosphere for fans.

"The draw represents a major milestone on our journey towards Gold Coast 2018, a landmark Games for the global rugby family with the inclusion of a women’s event for the first time, which reflects the ambition of our 2017-25 strategic plan to accelerate the development of women in rugby.

"Excitement is now building and the top men's and women's players from across the Commonwealth are looking forward to these Games and I am sure that the Gold Coast will be the perfect stage for their talent to shine. It will be a spectacular Games."

Pools deliver exciting contests
South Africa, who beat New Zealand 17-12 in the final in Glasgow four years ago, are joined by Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Malaysia in Pool A.

England will face 2014 bronze medallists Australia – buoyed by their HSBC Sydney Sevens success last weekend – as well as Samoa and Jamaica in Pool B.

The All Blacks Sevens, winners of the first four Commonwealth Games gold medals, have been drawn with Canada, Kenya and Zambia, while Olympic champions Fiji will meet Wales, Uganda and Sri Lanka in Pool D.

Only the top teams in each pool will progress to the semi-finals.

With five core teams on the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series involved in the inaugural women’s event the battle for Commonwealth gold is set to be intense.

New Zealand will face Canada, South Africa and Kenya in Pool A with Australia – fresh from their historic HSBC Sydney Sevens victory last weekend when they went through the entire tournament without conceding a try – joined by Fiji, England and Wales in Pool B.

You can visit the Gold Coast 2018 website here >>

Men’s pools

A – South Africa, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia
B – England, Australia, Samoa, Jamaica
C – New Zealand, Canada, Kenya, Zambia
D – Fiji, Wales, Uganda, Sri Lanka

Women’s pools

A – New Zealand, Canada, South Africa, Kenya
B – Australia, Fiji, England, Wales


 Return to Media Releases
� Copyright 2006 Trinidad and Tobago Rugby Football Union. All rights reserved.